Our world-leading researchers from Australia and New Zealand are central to the success of our research program.

Guiding Our Research

Members of our Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) are appointed and include researchers from a range of disciplines, such as medical oncology, surgery, radiation oncology, pathology, psycho-oncology, statistics and consumers. 

SAC is responsible for: 

  • Developing, evaluating, and recommending new clinical trial proposals to the Board and assigning priority.
  • The strategic review of potential new clinical trial questions, current practices, and patient groups to determine gaps and opportunities for future clinical trials.
  • Monitoring current and ongoing BCT clinical trials.

Members of the Scientific Advisory Committee

SAC is chaired by our Director of Research Professor Bruce Mann. 

  • Professor Bruce Mann – BCT Director of Research – Chair
  • Associate Professor Nicholas Wilcken – Medical Oncologist – Deputy Chair
  • Professor Boon Chua – Radiation Oncologist – Craft Group Lead – Radiation Oncology
  • Associate Professor Nicole McCarthy – Medical Oncologist – Craft Group Lead – Medical Oncology
  • Professor Andrew Spillane – Surgical Oncologist – Craft Group Lead – Surgical Oncology
  • Ms Karen Alexander – BCT Consumer Advisory Panel
  • Mr Heath Badger – Chief Operating Officer – Research, BCT
  • Dr Lisa Beatty – Psycho-Oncologist
  • Professor Frances Boyle AM – Medical Oncologist
  • Associate Professor Ian Campbell ONZM – Surgical Oncologist
  • Professor Prue Francis AM – Medical Oncologist
  • Professor Val Gebski – Statistician
  • Mrs Leslie Gilham – BCT Consumer Advisory Panel
  • Dr Belinda Kiely – Medical Oncologist
  • Dr Marion Kuper-Hommel – Medical Oncologist
  • Professor Sunil Lakhani – Pathologist
  • Professor Elgene Lim – Medical Oncologist
  • Professor Geoffrey Lindeman – Medical Oncologist / Clinician-Scientist
  • Professor Sherene Loi – Medical Oncologist
  • Dr Janine Lombard – Medical Oncolost
  • Associate Professor Nick Murray – Medical Oncolost
  • Associate Professor Peter O’Brien – Radiation Oncologist
  • Professor Kelly-Anne Phillips – Medical Oncologist
  • Dr David Porter – Medical Oncologist
  • Associate Professor Andrew Redfern – Medical Oncologist
  • Dr Nicholas Zdenkowski – Medical Oncologist


Profile Image

Professor Bruce Mann

Professor Bruce Mann is the Breast Cancer Trials Director of Research. He is a breast surgeon and experienced breast cancer clinical trialist.


Are you actively involved in the conduct of breast cancer clinical trials research? Become a BCT member today!